Date/Time
Date(s) - April 10, 2021
6:30 am - 8:30 am

Categories No Categories


Registration is closed for this Event. 

April 10, 2021

Download the event flyer

Download the Presentation

Enabling energy transition: A case study of Pakistan

Speaker

Ms. Saadia  Qayyum
Energy Specialist, World Bank 
Chair, Women in Energy Pakistan

 

Short Bio of the Speaker:

Saadia Qayyum is an Energy Specialist at the World Bank with 10 years of experience in the energy sector of Pakistan. Her area of expertise includes power market economics, renewable energy, energy efficiency and energy policy analysis. At the Bank she is leading National Energy Access technical assistance work.  Prior to joining World Bank, Saadia was with Punjab Government as Chief Energy Economist.
Saadia started her career at National Engineering Services of Pakistan as project economist and financial analyst on hydro power projects. She has also advised Ministry of Water and Power and Planning Commission on energy sector reforms and power infrastructure projects. As a strong proponent of more female participation in the energy sector, Saadia is co-leading Islamabad Chapter Director for Women in Energy (WIE) Pakistan – a network for fostering career and leadership development of female  professionals in the energy sector.   Saadia graduated from Harvard Kennedy School of Government in 2014 with a Masters Degree in Public Policy. She also holds a bachelors degree in Economics from Lahore University of Management Sciences.

 

If you have registered for the event, the program will start on Saturday, April 10, 2021 at your local time shown below:

6:30 AM San Francisco/Seattle/ Vancouver 

8:30 AM Chicago/Lima

7:30 Denver/Calgary 

9:30 AM New York/ Toronto/Washington DC

2:30 PM London

3:30 PM Berlin/Rome/Paris

4:30 PM Kampala/Moscow

6:30 PM Lahore/Islamabad

7:00 PM New Delhi

7:15 PM Kathmandu

9:30 PM Kuala Lumpur

9:30 PM Kuala Lumpur/Manila

11:30 PM Melbourne

Agenda

  1. Welcome by the Khimti Forum Host
  2. Introduction of the Moderator
  3. Introduction of the Featured Guest
  4. Few words by the Featured Guest -10 min
  5. Intro of the Speaker
  6. Presentation by the Speaker – 30 min
  7. Moderated Q&A – 30-45 min (Questions will be collected during the talks, using the chat feature
    of the Zoom and participants will have the opportunity to ask questions and offer comments)
  8. Announcement of next months program
  9. Casual networking – 30 min
Thank you,

Abstract of the Presentation:

The Government of Pakistan (GoP) has decided to move to a renewable energy (RE) reliant economy in which hydropower will be the backbone, along with wind and solar. To keep pace with the demands of a growing economy, this would require the development of additional generation capacity of 30 GW of hydropower, wind and solar by 2030. This commitment to green transition is complemented by efforts to create a more competitive market, reduce cost of generation, and improve transmission and distribution infrastructure. The presentation will provide an overview of Pakistan’s power sector and its challenges, and the reforms that the GoP has embarked on. It will present an analysis on whether the present regulatory, policy and institutional framework in the country can successfully support the transition and what measures would be required to achieve Government’s target of 65% RE (solar, wind and hydro) by 2030. Lastly, the presentation will discuss how renewable energy will provide reliable and sustainable power and how it will help the Government build back better and greener as the country recovers from the pandemic.

Variable Renewable Energy Integration and Planning Study of Pakistan by World Bank

7 thoughts on “April 2021

  1. Dear Kamal,
    Thank you for the invitation, very interesting topic. I have also forwarded it to my colleagues in charge for this market.
    Best regards
    Klaus

    1. khimtiforum says:

      Dear Klaus,
      Thank you very much for your interest in the Khimti Forum and for supporting us.
      The Khimti Forum Team

  2. I would like to make a presentation on Conservation of the World Heritage Site of Patan Dyrbar Square from the destructive plan with construction the construction of a new sewer line across Patan Durbar Square that will effect the intangible and tangible heritage and archeological values. The government needs to follow alternative solutions and leave the WHD untouched.

    1. khimtiforum says:

      Dear Badan,
      Thank you very much for your interest in the Khimti Forum and your willingness to make a presentation on the conservation of the World Heritage Site of Patan Dyrbar Square, Nepal. We will contact you soon to discuss your interest and possible presentation.
      The Khimti Forum

  3. Dr. Narayan Chaulagain says:

    I am interested to participate

    1. khimtiforum says:

      Dear Narayan,
      Thank you for your interest in Khimti Forum. If you are interested, please register at https://khimtiforum.org/Events/april-2021-event/.
      Looking forward to seeing you then.
      The Khimti Forum

  4. Nadia says:

    Hi, looking forward to attend the session.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *