Date/Time
Date(s) - May 8, 2021
6:30 am - 8:30 am

Categories


Registration is closed for this event. 

Celebrating the One Year Anniversary of the Khimti Forum!

Download the event flyer

Download the Presentation by Dr. Plummer Braeckman

Download the Presentation by Prof. Shrestha

Download the Presentation by Dr. Dhital of ERC

May 8, 2021

Hydropower Development in Nepal: Through the Lens of Economic Growth and Optimal Resource Utilization

Prof. Dr. Ram Manohar Shrestha

Ram M Shrestha is an Emeritus Professor at the School of Environment, Resources and Development (SERD), Asian Institute of Technology (AIT), Bangkok, Thailand. He has served as the Editor of International Energy Journal and as an Associate Editor of Energy Economics, Energy – The International Journal and Journal of Energy Engineering of American Society of Civil Engineers (ASCE). He has also been a member of the International Advisory Board of Carbon Management.

His areas of research are energy economics. climate policy, and energy-economic modeling. Prof Shrestha has published 12 books and several scientific papers on energy economics and climate policies in reputed peer-reviewed international journals. He is a recipient of The Energy Journal’s Best Paper Award from the International Association for Energy Economics (IAEE).

Abstract of the Presentation:

Hydropower being a major natural resource of Nepal, its development has been considered highly important for national sustainable economic development. The government has announced hydropower capacity and per capita electricity targets for time horizons of five and ten years. One aspect of this presentation will dwell on the compatibility of these targets with future economic growth scenarios of the country. Another part of the presentation is focused on the long-term implications of some current hydropower regulations from the perspective of economic efficiency and the “irreversibility” of hydropower resource development. Further, these issues and some other current policies/practices will be discussed from a long-term energy resource development perspective.

Find your local time of the event starting time below :

Saturday, May 8, 2021

6:30 AM San Francisco/Seattle/ Vancouver

7:30 Denver/Calgary  

8:30 AM Chicago/Lima

9:30 AM New York/ Washington DC/ Toronto

2:30 PM London

3:30 PM Berlin/Rome/Paris

4:30 PM Kampala/Moscow

6:30 PM Lahore

7:00 PM New Delhi

7:15 PM Kathmandu

9:30 PM Kuala Lumpur/Manila

11:30 PM Melbourne 

 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *